What Have I Read This Summer (So Far)?

I have read more this summer than I have in a long time, and I’m kicking myself for not reading more during the last school year. I have read 14 (!) books since school ended not counting professional development books (I think I finished Book Love the week after school ended). I’ve LOVED most of what I’ve read this summer. I also will probably finish another book today, making it 15 books in about 1.5-2 months.

I seriously probably read a book a month during the school year, so I’m determined to read as much as possible during the upcoming year to keep up my faster pace. Realistically I know I’ll slow down–I think during the school year, I’ll have maybe 2 school nights a week free (to spend with my kids and read before bed) and limited weekend time, but I’m motivated to read more than last year.

Witch & Wizard by James Patterson

I liked this book but didn’t love it. I love some fantasy, but in general, it’s not my genre, but I did enjoy this and think it was funny. I doubt I read the rest of the series, but I will recommend it to my fantasy loving students.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

Oh my gosh! I LOVE this! This book is now added to my favorite books list. So funny but also tragic at the same time. I’ll definitely be recommending this one to students and I may even use it as a class read aloud. My students would love it!

The Hundred Dresses by Eleanor Estes

I learned about this book from Whole Novels for the Whole Class. It’s super short and an easy read and deals with kids judging other kids and bullying. I didn’t love it, but it has a good message and I read it in one sitting.

Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult

SO GOOD! I loved this and will definitely recommend to my students. So emotional and so addicting once I started it!

On My Honor by Marion Dane Bauer

Very quick and easy read and it has a lot of action. I think a lot of my kids will like it. I enjoyed it.

Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight

It took me a little while to get into this but once I did I flew through it! It reminded me a little of Gone Girl. I liked it a lot. It’s not YA, but I’ll probably recommend to some of my students who like mystery/thrillers.

Rules by Cynthia Lord

Honestly when I started this book, I didn’t think I was going to love it. Once the friendship between Catherine and Jason developed, I got more into it and ended up really liking it.

Al Capone Does My Shirts by Gennifer Choldenko

I really liked this. I think this would be a good read aloud for my class too.

Wonder Struck by Brian Selznick

This was so cool! There is one story told in words and an alternating story told in pictures that link together in the end. It’s a good story and a lot of my students would love the “break” from reading to go through the illustrated story.

Hope Was Here by Joan Bauer

It took me almost half of the book before I got into it, but it was good. It was really sad!

The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

This was amazing. It deals with a daughter of a solider with PTSD and all of the things that go along with that. So sad and gut wrenching at times, but so so good. I’ll definitely be putting this one in my students’ hands.

Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass by Meg Medina

I heard about this on the Global Read Aloud website and I’m wanting to participate in the GRA this year, so I read this book first. This was the older student book choice and I can see why! It deals with bullying and it’s very good and really funny too. I’m also going to read Fish by LS Matthews which is another GRA choice and decide between the two. My students would love Yaqui Delgado though and regardless if I choose it for the GRA or not, I’ll be recommending it to them!

Sisters by Raina Telgemeier

My first graphic novel and I really liked it! I read it in one sitting and it was funny and cool. I’m planning on buying all of Telgemeier’s books for my classroom library because I have a lot of students that’d love these!

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

This is really, really good. It took me about 50 pages to get into it but really loved it once I did. It’s written in alternating viewpoint from a twin brother and sister, set 3 years apart. It might be slightly hard to follow for some of my lower level readers, but I think some of my higher readers would enjoy it.

Freedom Writers Diary by Erin Gruwell and the Freedom Writers

I’m still reading this but will probably finish it today. It’s crazy to read the conditions some people live in. I think a lot of my students would like reading this.

Leave a Reply

